Eternal Investment 

Edit

Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? –Matt. 6:25

There are several verses that have become an embedded part of my life – changing me forever because I’ve lived to experience the truth of God’s Word. His promises. Out of it has come understanding, peace, comfort and truth. Sometimes It comes in the form of a “life verse.”

Psalm 5:3 is the verse that became my life verse in 1998 when I worked at TbarM Sports Camp. It is the verse that names this blog.

Proverbs 3:5-6 is the verse that became such a deep part of my mom’s life and journey through cancer that, as a family, we came to know the truth of it.

Both of my girls have a life verse that I chose to pray over them as soon as they were conceived. I have discovered that each verse fits their little personality and describes their heart perfectly.
Presley’s verse- Colossians 1:9-11.
Hope’s verse- Zephaniah 3:17.

And then I think about the words in Hebrews 13:5….“I will never leave you nor forsake you.” And how I saw those words lived out as my mom lay almost lifeless in her bed a few days before she passed away. She had very little strength and very little memory, but she had the strength to recite her favorite Bible verse and sing her favorite Hymns. It was this verse that allowed me to see truth revealed…. God will never leave His children nor forsake them no matter the circumstances surrounding us.

Just recently, another verse has become a reality to me and has taken on a new meaning. I’ve been talking about Haiti and how it’s changed our lives within the past year. How my husband left his heart in Haiti. How my little sister’s heart has been in Haiti since 8th grade. The verse that keeps playing over and over in my head….

For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. Matthew 6:22

Our heart is in Haiti.
Our heart is for the Haitian people.
Our heart is for the people in Haiti to know Christ- to know him deeper.

We are not in Haiti to change a nation. We are there to watch God change a village of 400. To watch Him work in the lives of Merci de Dieu Village as they pour His love into their people. And as our good friend Kenny once said, “I want this village to become the cup that runneth over.” God will use the people of Haiti to change Haiti.

Our job is to pray,
to help where we can so that they might be able to physically live without starving,
and to encourage them as they grow in the Lord.

God has given us a heart for Haiti. He knows the treasures found in Haiti are not the monthly deposits we make, but the daily investments He makes in the lives of those who have put their trust in Him.

This is the treasure He speaks of ….And it is because of God’s eternal investment that our hearts are in Haiti.

One thought on “Eternal Investment 

Leave a Reply

