Little Miss Independents

photo (3)

Hope is a mover and a goer and an “I can do it myself, get your hand out of here” type of girl. She is stubborn and happy and a ball of fire. Have NO idea how I am going to manage this one. 😉 But for now, she pouts and cries when I say “no” or when she thinks she is in trouble. I can handle her strong-willed personality IF she is one who does not like to get into trouble….that is doable. A strong-willed child who is only out to have fun??? That is another story, but for now, she is a sweet thing who is little miss independent. She is trying to use more words. My little sister swears that she can say “what r u doing?” And I must admit, I have heard her say it in context several times since she pointed it out to me. She barks like a dog when she sees Goose or Yukon…or any other dog. She can say cookie, mama, dada, hi, and ba-ba. She does a lot of screaming, laughing, and noise making. She is basically the complete opposite of my sweet, quiet Presley…who doesn’t seem to be so quiet anymore since Hope came around.

Presley loves learning. Thrives on it. She has a natural desire to know more…do more. I always told myself that I would not push what I thought to be the “best education” in my mind onto my children. I grew up in a Private School, taught in a Public School & a Charter School so I have seen advantages and disadvantages in all three systems. Ultimately, it’s where I see God’s leading. As much as I would love to homeschool, I don’t think Presley would thrive socially in a homeschool atmosphere and it’s not where my heart is, but I do enjoy pulling stuff out of my teaching box and allowing her to learn more. I think the thing I am most excited about is finally having the opportunity to teach her to read. I have taught other children to read and it’s probably one of the most exciting things to watch…I love it, anyway.  I don’t use any type of curriculum so can’t help anyone there.  Presley is an independent thinker. She has her own way of doing things and doesn’t like being confined to one way of doing things. This makes it tough for her to follow directions. MMMM….I know these students and I have had quite a few of them in my class. And now, I have one at home with me. 🙂 We are discussing words like…diligence, taking our time, doing our best, and following directions. There are times to follow the rules (directions) and there are times when you can create and use your imagination….pretty sure I have heard myself say things like this daily in the classroom.  Looking back, I see how much further along Presley was from where Hope is now. However, Hope is leaps and bounds in gross motor skills from where Presley was at her age. Two different little people. It’s going to be so much fun watching these two grow up together. I absolutely love that they are so different…makes for fun and creative parenting! Completely in love with these two little girls and I just love them dearly.

One thought on “Little Miss Independents

Leave a Reply

