12 Months Gone…Onto 13

_DSC0279

One year has come and gone, and each day gets harder to look back. I know what lies ahead and I am filled with anticipation of what your little future holds. What kind of life will you live…will you lead? You are so much like your daddy. You have his drive and willingness to explore the world around you. I see so much laughter, so much joy, so much hope in you. If there was ever a name that captivated who you are I would say we got your name right, Hope.

We began Kindergarten this month and you seem to enjoy it. I know that you have an ear for music and rhythm. I hear you trying to mimic a beat or a song we sing often. You also seem to have a memory for songs. People have always asked if I think my children will be musical. Music runs a long line in our family tree….musical instruments, that is. :o) Sorry, no singers here. We can hold a tune, but just barely.  However, I can honestly say that I see a musical tendency in you and I can’t wait to see where it leads. You are a mover, a real “go-getter.” Presley would sit in my lap for the entire 45 minutes of kindermusik when she was your age. She loved, and still loves, to listen to music. You, on the other hand, want to move to the music.

You are still not an efficient walker, but it’s not for lack of trying! You fall down and hop right back up….unless you are eager to get somewhere special. You want so badly to be able to walk like your sister, but you are just having a hard time getting your balance. You can easily walk 7-15 steps, but you quickly lose your balance when you aren’t focused…..which is often. On your first birthday you walked 7 steps all on your own for the first time. You were determined to get a ball that your Aunt Sara was holding in her arms and you just took off with confidence.

13 months has been tough for me. I am reminded that you are no longer a baby and you’re longing to move toward independence. You are beginning to protest and scream when things are taken away from you and when I pick you up. You are a great eater ;o) You love to try new foods. We have discovered that you are lactose intolerant so we have switched you over to Soy. You seem to be completely fine with the change.

This age of 12-18 months is most difficult, I think. It’s especially hard for me to let go. To let go of the babiness. To let go of the complete dependency you’ve had on me for the past year. But, isn’t this what parenting is all about? I love the personality you bring to this family and how you complete it fully.  We adore you to the moon and back little miss Hope Abbie and we can’t wait to see what your future holds.

Leave a Reply

