In Our Garden This Year

_DSC0029

I am by NO means a gardener…of any kind, but moving into this house has helped me to try it out. Surprisingly, it’s much easier than I thought. I came to discover this last year when I first took a stab at growing peppers, strawberries, lettuce, onions, tomatoes, and herbs. Everything pretty much grew itself. Well, everything except lettuce and strawberries. But, everything else was easy peasy ;o) I know this because I was off my feet all summer long with my pregnancy and did absolutely nothing to maintain the garden. I had done a few things prior that probably helped a little, but most of it grew itself with very little maintenance on my part. When I moved into this house the previous owners already had two compost bins and two raised beds so this made it very easy for me to start off.

_DSC0031

my garden made salad…except the lettuce ;o)

This year we are growing cherry tomatoes, fat tomatoes, pickled cucumbers, peppers of every kind, strawberries, and green beans.There are things I am learning along the way…probably things I should have already known, but just never took into account….like, the fact that my pickled cucumbers will soon take over one of the raised beds soon. :o)

Leave a Reply

