This Week From Our Garden

  My gardening adventure was cut short as I was told by my doctor, early on, to stay off of my feet as much as possible.   However, because I chose to plant vegetables that were considered “easy to grow” :o) I haven’t had to do much of anything with my peppers, onions, tomatoes, or herbs. They have just kind of grown on their own…thanks to a gracious God who has sent rain weekly for the past few months. I will say, my basil and tomatoes grew overnight. It was crazy to watch! I didn’t have a lot of luck with my strawberry plants…only 1 of the 3 made it. I wasn’t able to baby it as much as I wanted, but it did produce strawberries and several blossoms. We ate 2 strawberries and then I did what every strawberry grower says to do…I pinched off the rest of the blossoms. I read that if you do this then the plant will produce bigger and better fruit come Fall. Hopefully by then I will be on my feet again! I definitely didn’t grow beautiful looking vegetables, but they’re still edible. lol.  A little side note….Only 2 of my 8 heads of lettuce made it. Most of them were eaten to shreds by nasty green caterpillars. I tried to go out to the garden daily to pull them off, but by that time I was forever scarred and couldn’t imagine eating it! I  ended up trashing them. I guess growing lettuce just isn’t my cup of tea. I definitely have a lot to learn, but I am looking forward to prepping the garden for the fall!

This is the garden when it was first planted ;o) and the two green specks you see are the tomato plant and the basil plant back in March…. Now look at them ;o)

Tomato plant and Basil plant  (basil and tomatoes are companion plants)

Rosemary (left) and Joey’s Mint plant :o)

tomatoes and red onions   (also companion plants)

Leave a Reply

