A Father’s Love

Gratitude bestows reverence, allowing us to encounter everyday epiphanies, those transcendent moments of awe that change forever how we experience life and the world. -Sarah Ban Breathnach

The book by Ann Voskamp, One Thousand Gifts, that I blogged about a few weeks ago is still changing me daily. It is still changing the way I see the world. I am allowing the little things in life to change me.

As I was writing about Presley’s reunion with her daddy at the airport in my Eucharist (thanksgiving) journal I started to think about God’s love for us. The one thing that I love about this book (and keeping a journal about the little things that I am thankful for) is that I am forced to make a connection between the “little things” in my life and what God is trying to reveal to me daily. It’s just like Ann says in her book,

these little things are just the common things and maybe I don’t even know they are gifts until I write them down. Gifts He bestows. This writing down-it is sort of like…unwrapping God’s love.”

I felt this when I sat down this morning to document in my journal the reunion between Presley and her daddy. I looked past the way it made me “feel” and looked deeper- to see what God was trying to show me. I saw Him. I imagine that the reunion Presley had with Joey- Presley with the biggest smile on her face, running as fast as her little legs could carry her right into her daddy’s opened arms– is the same type of reunion we will experience in heaven when we come face to face with our Savior. What a wonderful image to have ;o) especially with Father’s Day just around the corner.

I learned so much about Christ’s love for me when I was little because of the way my dad fathered me and my sisters. Today, I continue to experience Christ’s love for me through my precious daughter. It is being a parent that allows me to experience the love God has for me. It is because of this experience that I have greater insight into who God is as a Father. It is the sacrifice He made for us through his Son that reveals His unconditional love for us.

I think it’s the circumstances and the things we experience throughout our life that molds us and makes us who we are. If you think about it, if there was no pain in our life then how would we truly know God? I am certain that I would have never experienced God’s comfort, love, or peace as deeply as I did after my mom’s death had I not gone through the experience of losing her. I can also say that, to this day, I have not experienced His comfort in that same way…at least not that deeply or intensely.

God is in the details; God is in the moment. God is in all that blurs by in a life-even hurts in a life.” -Ann Voskamp

This morning as I was searching for a specific Bible verse I came across a website called, “Father’s Love Letter” This was the first time I have ever heard of this website. I read through the written form of the letter first and then clicked on the video…reading it first made the video come alive. Click HEREto see the video and read the words (10 minutes) or Click HERE to listen to the video (6 minutes).

Thanks is what multiplies the joy and makes any life large, and I hunger for it!
-Ann Voskamp
Leave a Reply

