Melt My Heart

We love because He first loved us. I John 4:19

I am sitting here bawling my eyes out and drenching the keyboard in the process, but I have to record this moment. Today was such a wonderful day and Presley was pretty much perfect all day. We visited our Farmer’s Market, went shopping for new shoes at Grapevine Mills Mall, had P.F. Changs for dinner where she tried everything…and liked it, and got ice cream for a late dessert. Joey headed out around 8 o’clock to watch UFC with some guys from work and I had the joy of putting little miss Presley down for the night. Her favorite thing to do when getting ready for bed is to pick out the books we are going to read for the night. She chose quite a few books tonight…7 to be exact. Right now her favorite book is The Very Hungry Caterpillar. As I got to the end of the book I looked at her and said in a very excited voice, “he was a big, fat caterpillar!” she just looked at me, gave me the biggest smile ever, put her arms around my neck, gave me the biggest hug, and said, “I love you mommy.” Oh. my. goodness! I just melted. She has told me that she loved me before, but it has always been after I have said it first. I always say, “I love you Presley” and then she usually says, “I love you mommy.” I remember the first time she responded to me with an “I love you mommy.” AND I will forever remember this night as well…the day she told me on her own, “I love you mommy” with the overwhelming evidence of it in her eyes. ;o) MELT MY HEART, I tell ya! It just melts my heart….and makes me want to hold onto her a little tighter tonight.

Leave a Reply

