Walking His Path

My Jesus I love thee…I’ll love thee in life, I will love thee in death, And praise thee as long as thou lendest me breath; And say when the death dew lies cold on my brow; If ever I loved thee, my Jesus, ’tis now.”

Several years after my mom passed away from Glioblastoma, the most common and aggressive type of primary brain tumors, I started looking into organizations/charities that supported brain cancer research. I have participated in several walks for different organizations, mostly with friends when I lived in San Antonio, but was never able to find one that supported brain cancer. That is why I was so excited when I came upon the NBTS (National Brain Tumor Society) and their upcoming Brain Tumor Walk. The organization is fairly new and the walk is only held in 8 cities around the nation…Dallas-Ft. Worth is one of those cities!!

I remember thinking, when my mom was first diagnosed with brain cancer, “what a rare disease.” Actually, it isn’t that rare at all. In the US, over 575 people are diagnosed with a brain tumor every day. When I heard about this walk I was so excited to participate and so were my sisters! Sara was able to register our team…while I took care of poor little Presley girl…thanks Sara! We wanted the team name to represent the essence of my mom and who she was as a person so we centered around her verse, Proverbs 3:5-6. We are truly blessed to have this opportunity to walk for a cause so close to our family’s heart.

The effect that brain tumors have on patients and their loved ones can be overwhelming. This form of cancer not only effects the patient physically, but mentally and emotionally as well..depending on the location of the tumor. The NBTS supports families by providing comprehensive support programs for patients and their loved ones!

They also fund results-driven research to accelerate the discovery of new therapies for adult and pediatric brain tumors. This is important because I remember my mom having limited treatment options…she was able to undergo radiation and several trial based treatments. The reason for this is because the current anticancer drugs have difficulty reaching the brain. There is a protective layer of cells surrounding the brain that prevents medication in the blood stream from entering the brain making it difficult to treat. Brain Cancer can be aggressive, and the rapid growth of some brain tumors can be overwhelming to all of those involved.

I am thankful that my mom only had to endure a year of suffering before she went to be with the Lord , it was during this time that she touched the hearts and lives of those around her forever. She lived fully for Christ and never allowed doubt, bitterness, unfaithfulness, or anger to rule in her heart. Some of the last words I remember her saying, or should I say singing, came from one of her favorite hymns, My Jesus I Love Thee.
“My Jesus I love thee…I’ll love thee in life, I will love thee in death, And praise thee as long as thou lendest me breath; And say when the death dew lies cold on my brow; If ever I loved thee, my Jesus, ’tis now.”
Powerful words, indeed. But even more so because my mom’s tumor was located in the language center of the brain and she had difficulty communicating. However, no matter what she was always able to recite her favorite verse or hymn….takes on a new meaning of the verse “I will never leave you, nor forsake you.” It is the words from this hymn that I remember with joy in my heart, that brings a smile to my face, and a tear to my eye. My mom never allowed the circumstances or disappointments of her life determine her faith or walk with God. Instead of focusing on all the “whys” of this life she would focus on the “how”…how do I overcome this and move on in faith. She was truly an amazing woman!

My sisters and I feel blessed to have had a mom with such a heart as this and this is why we walk in memory of her on November 6th. We are hoping to raise a total of $1,000 and we are half way there!!!! Thanks to those of you have already donated with such a giving heart! We are truly blessed by all of you. If you would like to participate in the walk, join our team, or donate to one of our participants please visit our team page below! Thanks!
Walking His Path

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight” Prov. 3:5-6
Leave a Reply

