A Sweet Miracle

“For this reason I kneel before the Father…I pray that out of his glorious riches He may strengthen you with power through His Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your heart with faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge-that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God. Now to Him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to His power that is at work within us.” -Ephesians 3:14-20

My older sister needs a blog of her own 😉 so today I am going to share her facebook post about her precious Logan. Logan’s first birthday is today and what a special little boy he is. Not only because he was born 3 months early, but because he beat the odds even from within the womb. It is amazing to see how God protected my sister and this child. He went through great distress, was born 3 months early, had heart surgery within the first two weeks of life, and was protected all the while. Even after my sister brought him home, there was still so much for this little guy to overcome. He continues to overcome the odds daily and continues to be such a little fighter. It is no surprise to me that my sister showed great faith in the midst of this trial. She was the face of strength and faith during the time my mom was sick…and after. She deals with things head-on and was there for all of us during the hardest of times. She stood by my side during the most challenging time of my life by attending a bible study group with me at our church called “grief share.” I had a really hard time opening up in such an intense atmosphere and so she came with me to help me get all that I could out of it. I knew nothing about grief and had misconceptions about it from the beginning. I was familiar with loss, in that, I had lost great grandparents and a friend of mine in 9th grade to cancer. However, losing someone in your immediate family takes on a whole new meaning of the word loss. In my mind, I thought grief would last a few months and then be gone, but in fact, it lasts much longer and is a process that must be worked through…and on your own. So needless to say, I was very thankful for my sister standing by my side. Today, she continues to stand in faith and fight for her precious Logan. I am so proud of her and the mom she is! Here is her facebook post…I hope she’s not embarrassed by my posting 😉
“July 14, 2009, I was reading a book my mom gave me before she passed. It said, “Father, I am so delighted that You are both loving and sovereign, and that You cause all things to work together for good to those who love You, to those who are called according to Your purpose. I thank You in advance for each disappointment, each demanding duty, each pressure, each interruption that may arise in the coming hours and days.” The next day Logan was delivered emergency C-section and the next year would rock my world. Isn’t it beautiful how God spoke to me the night before to reassure me that even though I would be experiencing extreme trials in the next year He would still be there by my side carrying me every step of the way. God is so good and I am reminded of this as I read the same passage in my book a year later. I am so blessed to have a healthy one year old little boy! A true miracle from heaven!

Leave a Reply

