8 Months & A Special Letter

“For this reason, since the day we heard about you, we have not stopped praying for you and asking God to fill you with the knowledge of His will through all wisdom and understanding. And we pray this in order that you may live a life worthy of the Lord and may please Him in every way; bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God” -Colossians 1:9-10

Presley is 8 months old and really starting to become a little person. Not too much has changed this past month except for the fact that she is just more efficient at what she does. For instance, her cooing is now babbling. I truly believe that she thinks she is in full conversation with us when she babbles on the way she does…must get that from her dad! She is also scooting, rolling, and crawling ALL over the place!!! It’s definitely a lot different having a mobile child…so much to explore in this world we live!

I keep thinking back to last year at this time…we had just found out we were having a girl, went out and bought all of the furniture for the nursery, and registered for all of the necessities (or what we thought were the “necessities”). I also remember saying to myself, “next year at this time…” and now THAT time is here! Can she really be 8 months old?  I am trying to slow down a bit and just enjoy her and these times. The fact that she is now 8 months old has me thinking a lot more about her future and I find myself praying about it a bit more too…which I’m sure all parents find themselves doing as their children get older.

I found a letter the other day from my Grandpa Cose that he wrote to me and Joey right after we were married. It was such a great letter to read and just a sweet reminder of God’s goodness and faithfulness…especially to our family. In his letter he says, “let the Lord and the Word of God be your guide and strength early on in your marriage because He is always faithful-so grow in Him.” He then tells us of a couple of verses that have been special to him throughout his life. One of the verses is one that I have heard several times throughout my years at SACS, but it has a different meaning to me now that I have a child of my own. Colossians 1:9-10…What a sweet prayer of truth for all children! This verse has become central to the way that Joey and I would like to raise Presley and we have dedicated this as “her verse.”

Leave a Reply

